Why codenplay?

CodeNplay was born in 2017 bcause we remarked that in a world increasingly shaped by digital technologies, it becomes essential for every citizen to be able to understand the basics and to seize the opportunities. 

 

Regardless of the employment sector things are modelled, quantified and facilitated by computer processes, in daily life.  Understanding the functioning of digital tools, and therefore the programming bases behind them, becomes crucial in many aspects: equal opportunities, the labour market, ethics, etc.
 

To support this digital revolution and enable everyone to be part, CodeNPlay (non-profit) has set itself the mission to educate our children in digital technology, by helping primary schools integrating an coding and technologies into their curricula. We offer our extracurricular activities, where we demonstrate through practice what digital education and programming means. We provide also the trainings of teachers or student teachers and the creation of a high- quality curriculum. 

Why should you learn coding in primary school ?

Children live in a world that has become technologically advanced. Children are growing up in a world full of technology. But the truth is that they often have a great interest in technology and they are a large target group of tech companies. But do they really  understand how devices work without being educated? Teaching children to code, while making them aware of the use of digital tools (social networks, online safety, digital tracks...), allows them to take control of the machine and use them informed, creative and active rather than passive. Learning coding at school is the condition to reach everyone. 

 

Pedagogical opportunities

Learning how to programm is in many ways similar to learning a new language: the earlier children are gettng in touch, the more comfortable they will be. A coding course exsists of different pedagogical benefits and makes it possible to develop in a fun way transversal skills such as: creativity, collaboration, project implementation or sequential problem solving... 

 

More girls

Attracting more girls to computer science (highly masculinized) is absolutely necessary to ensure gender equity and to meet employment challenges. To fight against the prejudice that 'computer science is for boys', it is essential to stimulate the interests to computers when they are young and less influenced by the prejudices conveyed in our society. Thus, if they dicscover a passion for computers in elementary school, they will dream about a job in engineering or computer science. 

Our values

Fun

As one schoolhead described perfectly: while playing and having fun during our activities, children don't even realize that they are learning a lot!
Similarly, we want all team members to have fun as well. 

Inclusivity

Making the digital world accessible to everyone is at the heart of our project. By getting in touch with primary schools we can reach all the children, regardless of gender or income.
We emphasize particulary that we ensure that our extracurricular activities are having affordable or free rates in economically disadvantaged areas.

Social enterpreneursip

The passion for entrepreneurship combined with strong social motivation has led us to define ourselves internally as a non-profit start-up.
We are driven by the desire to move forward, to take risks, to innovate, while having as our unique objective to participate positively in the evolution of society, in the crucial field of education.

Confidence

The school is a particular environment, which is impossible to understand without experience in the field. For this reason we are going to schools to create, test, show and consolidate our curricula; our courses are in line to the practical realities of the school. 
Our team, a healthy mix of technical profiles (engineers, computer scientists,...) and pedagogical profiles (education sciences, teachers) always tries to combine digital skills with pedagogical experience. All the teammembers, regardless of their role at CodeNPlay, give activities in schools themselves. 

Our mission

Educate every child in the digital world

Our vision

Take the lead in the digital transition in primary schools by empowering teachers to train their students in ict: from problem solving to computational thinking and coding; digital citizenship and robotics

Pourquoi CodeNPlay ? 

CodeNplay est née en 2017 du constat que dans un monde de plus en plus façonné par les technologies numériques, il devient essentiel pour chaque citoyen de pouvoir en cerner les enjeux et d'en saisir les opportunités. Quel que soit le secteur de l’emploi, mais aussi dans la vie de tous les jours, les choses sont en effet modélisées, quantifiées, facilitées par des procédés informatiques.  Comprendre le fonctionnement des outils numériques, et donc les bases de programmation derrière ceux-ci, devient ainsi crucial à bien des égards: égalité des chances, marché de l'emploi, éthique, …

 

Pour accompagner cette révolution numérique et permettre à chacun d'y prendre part, CodeNPlay (ASBL) s’est donné pour mission d'éduquer nos enfants au numérique, en aidant les écoles primaires à intégrer un programme d’introduction au code et aux technologies dans leur cursus. Ceci se fait via nos activités parascolaires, où nous montrons par la pratique en quoi consiste l'enseignement au numérique et à la programmation, mais surtout par la formation d'instituteurs et d'étudiants instituteurs et la création d'un programme de cours de qualité. 

 

 

Pourquoi apprendre à coder en primaire ?

Depuis qu'ils sont tout petit, les enfants vivent dans un monde qui s'est très fortement technologisé. Il est ainsi courant d'entendre qu'ils s'y connaissent très bien, eux qui y baignent dès leur naissance. La vérité est qu'ils y portent souvent un grand intérêt, et sont pour beaucoup de grands utilisateurs. En comprennent-ils pour autant le fonctionnement et en font-ils un bon usage, sans qu'on les y éduque ? Apprendre aux enfants à coder, tout en les sensibilisant à l'utilisation des outils numérique(réseau sociaux, sécurité en ligne, traces numériques…), leur permet de prendre le contrôle de la machine et d’en faire un usage averti, créatif et actif plutôt que passif. Le faire à l'école est la la condition pour le faire pour tous. 

 

Des opportunités pédagogiques

L’apprentissage de la programmation est sur bien des points similaire à l’apprentissage d’une langue: au plus tôt ils y sont éveillé, au plus ils développeront d’aisance dans l’exercice. Il regorge aussi de bénéfices pédagogiques et permet de développer de manière ludique des compétences transversales telles que la créativité, la collaboration, la réalisation de projets ou la résolution de problèmes de manière séquentielle… 

 

Plus de filles !

Attirer plus de filles dans les sciences informatiques (fortement masculinisé) est absolument nécessaire, tant pour garantir une équité des sexes que pour répondre aux challenges de l’emploi. Pour lutter contre ce préjugé, il est essentiel de les éveiller à l’informatique quand elles sont encore jeunes et moins influencées par les préjugés véhiculés dans notre société. Ainsi, si elles y on pris goût à l’école primaire, elles auront ainsi bien moins de mal à se projeter plus tard dans des métiers d’ingénieures ou d’informaticiennes. 

Nos valeurs

Le fun

Comme l'a magnifiquement décrite une directrice, en jouant et en s'amusant durant nos activités, les enfants ne se rendent même pas compte qu'ils apprennent énormément!
De même, nous tenons à ce que tous les membres de l'équipe soient fun également, à nos yeux évidemment :) 

L'inclusivité

Rendre le monde numérique accessible à tous est au cœur de notre projet. C'est en le faisant à l'école qu'on peut toucher tous les enfants, indépendamment de leur sexe ou de leur revenu.
Nous mettons également un accent particulier à ce que nos activités parascolaires soient à des tarifs abordables ou gratuits dans les milieux économiquement précarisés.

L'entreprenariat social

La passion d'entreprendre mêlée à une forte motivation sociale nous a amené à nous définir en interne comme une Startup Sans But Lucratif (SSBL).
Nous sommes habités par la volonté d'aller de l'avant, de prendre des risques, d'innover, tout en ayant pour seul et unique objectif de participer positivement à l'évolution de la société, dans le domaine crucial qu'est l'éducation.

La confiance

L'école est un milieu particulier, impossible à appréhender sans une forte expérience de terrain. C'est pour cette raison que nous allons dans les écoles pour créer, tester, montrer et consolider nos programmes de cours; afin qu'ils soient toujours plus proches des réalités pratiques de l'école. 
Notre équipe, savant mélange de profils techniques(ingénieurs, informaticien,…) et pédagogiques(sciences de l'éducation, insitutrices) essaie toujours d'allier compétences numériques à expérience pédagogique. Nous tenons également à ce que membre, indépendamment de son rôle à CodeNPlay, donne lui-même des animations dans les écoles. 

Notre mission

Éduquer tous les enfants au numérique

Notre vision

Mener la transition numérique de l’éducation dans les écoles primaires en habilitant les enseignants à former leurs étudiants au numérique: de la résolution de problème à codage par computational thinking; citoyenne digitale et robotique